CHANGING INTERESTS AND WEIRD QUESTIONS

9 05 2007

In the past few months, I have suddenly discovered my liking of a range of topics that I never dwelled into too much before. First among them is the connection between politics and economics throughtout history, and the second is the most famous debate since time immortal…no, not the chicken or the egg question, but about the existence of GOD. And these two are inturn interconnected because GOD is a good excuse that people have given for vested political and economic gains they have wanted and still want over their peers.

A stunning BBC documentary I watched about the Galapagos Islands, articles and lectures of Prof Richard Dawkins, reading about human rights issues and the economics of War ( Addicted to War is a good easy start) , watching lectures of Dr Noam Chomsky and quite a bit of stuff that I’ve subsequently read on Darwinism and other topics have screwed up my mind because there is no way a person who believes in science can reject evolution.. and if you accept evolution, you implicitly reject GOD. This makes you think why did you believe in GOD till now..which leads to the fact that society in a large way affects your morals, the way you think and behave, and that taken a step further means that we were/are (un)knowingly forced to think and behave in a particual direction because the higher powers in society gain from it..and that most of us are nothing but just puppets in the higher scheme of things. The church gained control over entire continents for most part of two milleniums by means of GOD…and billions of people have blind faith and strange superstitions that make them question their capability to do anything…( A Clockwork Orange makes a lot more sense to me these days ).

I might be offering the depressing (and true?) point of view, but it still makes more sense to me than believing in lies and see people slit each others throat for the sake of something they never understood and will never care to think of rationally… I can only hope that sanity and rationality will eventually prevail…should I say InshaAllah?


Actions

Information

11 responses

9 05 2007
alok

yeah tou bata single cell kaha se tapka?? hum logo ne apne matlab ke liye god word kaa misuse kiya hai…its something which motivates us to carry on..
well i m repeating the same words again…

9 05 2007
Victim Of Desire

Alok: 100’s of scientists are researching that very same question and there will be an answer to it one day…for more info read this… Wiki Cell

just because we don’t know it doesnt mean that you attribute it to god..remember once we also believed that the earth was flat and that it was the center of the universe…

about motivation..its personal i think….

11 05 2007
Hardeep

Haha. Welcome to the club!

13 05 2007
Mrinal

Whoa.. itni badi-badi baten kar raha hai tu! Are u alright? πŸ™‚

Nice post anyways!

15 05 2007
sachin

I myself have asked this question several times, but always ended with no answer. I also agree that there would always be facts that science cannot prove and there would always be this feeling that there is some outer force influencing our decisions. So its always gonna be ‘to-be or not-to-be’ situation and I have made my mind to live with that πŸ˜‰

16 05 2007
mrinmayee

Teri baat mein dum to hai, babuwa!
While reading ur post, I was wondering..why is it taking so long for the conclusion ?

19 05 2007
Victim Of Desire

Hardeep: Dude, you too? Glad to see I have good company πŸ™‚

Mrinal: Nope I am not alright!! Dimag mein bahut gadbad chal rahi hai..

Sachin: I agree that we cannot answer everything, but only point is that why should we believe everything..which we have been doing since ages!!

Mrinmayee Baat mein dum to hai…isiliye likhi hai… btw, mereko samjha nahi when you said “why did you take so long for the conclusion”..i thought i could not make this post shorter without making it complete..

20 05 2007
alok

who said to believe all the things blindly which we are doing since ages instead of that you should ask the question like why we are doing this and if its right then do it else correct it and educate others?
well i think we had miss the link and hence all the questions and confusions are there?

21 05 2007
Mrinmayee

naaaa.
Let me put it this way…
I wonder why this Science vs God research taking this long to conclude.

21 05 2007
Victim Of Desire

Mrinamayee: And what do you want the conclusion to be!!?? πŸ™‚

27 07 2013
ramadan gifts ideas

I almost never drop remarks, however i did a few searching and wound up
here CHANGING INTERESTS AND WEIRD QUESTIONS |. And I do have a
couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or does it seem like a few of these comments look as if they are written by brain dead folks? πŸ˜› And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d like to follow
everything fresh you have to post. Would you list of all of
all your public pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a comment